Stairs

 

Mother to Son

Well, son, I’ll tell you:
Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
It’s had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor—
Bare.
But all the time
I’se been a-climbin’ on,
And reachin’ landin’s,
And turnin’ corners,
And sometimes goin’ in the dark
Where there ain’t been no light.
So, boy, don’t you turn back.
Don’t you set down on the steps.
‘Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.
Don’t you fall now—
For I’se still goin’, honey,
I’se still climbin’,
And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.

Langston Hughes

These are my girls Kim and Molly.

I didn’t grow up with an example of a mother in my life, but I am able to for Kim. Yesterday was a great day for our family. Kim goes to a school that is pretty far from us. The city bus line doesn’t even get close, Kim has missed many chances to participate in school things, dances, ROTC things, sports events and such. I know it’s gotta be hard to tell folks ” I can’t cause we don’t have a car.” being 15 and just trying to find your way. For many many weeks now Kim has been on our butts about getting a car. Many times it ends in tears because it is just not possible right now. We have missed soo many things with her. I just keep telling her “It won’t always be this way and we just have to do what we can. Life is not always easy” God knows Kim is trying to understand. 

She presented colors a couple of weeks ago at a home game. Kim was chosen by her Commanding Officer along with a few others. From what I understand it is an honor to be chosen. Of course we missed seeing her, but she didn’t really ride my butt about it. We talked about how the experience was and such. I was proud of her in that moment, very proud! 

Yesterday morning you could just see the excitement in the house. Randy and I would finally be able to see Kim march in with the others in her JR ROTC  kids. Her school was chosen to participate in the local Vet Day Parade here in downtown Knoxville!! It was walking distance at that..well about 1/2 a mile. I knew it was gonna be a tough walk but I did it! When Kim left for school she and I didn’t quite know if I would be able to make it, (FEET are KILLIN ME Lately!)….So to see the JOY and EAR to EAR Grin on my girls face to see her Dad and Mom, together, WHEW i need a tissue. WOW! She broke rank for a couple of seconds but no harm done. She was to keep marching in formation no matter what ..per Commander. LIfe is GOOD!! Thank you to all whom have served our country!

 

 

 

 

 

 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized, weightloss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

